Carol Doersch, R.I.P.

Carol, who died July 17th, was a great Parkway advocate and a wonderful person who will be deeply missed.

I first met Carol several years ago when we were both on the Sacramento History Commission.

She recruited me for the board of the American River Natural History Association (ARNHA), and once I had agreed to that, quickly persuaded me to accept nomination to the presidency of ARNHA, which I also agreed to and happily served a term.

Her work with ARNHA began at the beginning and encompassed the major change a couple years ago when ARNHA was asked to assume the funding and management of the Effie Yeaw Nature Center.

During that entire period her presence and her work was always central to the success of ARNHA.

She embodied the highest attributes of the volunteer and philanthropist, always ready to help out and willing to put an extraordinary amount of time and treasure into those projects she loved, the Parkway being central.

There is a very nice article on her life in the current ARNHA Newsletter, first page.

About David H Lukenbill

I am a native of Sacramento, as are my wife and daughter. I am a consultant to nonprofit organizations, and have a Bachelor of Science degree in Organizational Behavior and a Master of Public Administration degree, both from the University of San Francisco. We live along the American River with two cats and all the wild critters we can feed. I am the founding president of the American River Parkway Preservation Society and currently serve as the CFO and Senior Policy Director. I also volunteer as the President of The Lampstand Foundation, a nonprofit organization I founded in 2003.
This entry was posted in History, Nonprofit Management, Parks. Bookmark the permalink.